Refugee Resettlement Resumes

Refugee Resettlement Resumes

After a four-month ban, refugee admissions resumed on Tuesday, now with much stricter rules – particularly for foreign nationals coming from 11 countries targeted by the current administration. Officials have not specified which 11 countries are now under tougher scrutiny in the refugee application process, but some speculate that the countries include Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Mali, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

The refugee resettlement program had been suspended due to the president’s travel ban implemented last March. Now, under the new guidelines, refugee applications from the 11 undisclosed countries must undergo a 90-day review period.


Leave a comment

Want to express your opinion?
Leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *